Shop Amazon.com

Search This Blog

Loading...

Who Am I?

For those of you who have just traipsed upon me and need an intro to who I am, here ya go. I'm a single mom living in Southern Indiana. I consider myself a bit of a weather geek, love NASCAR & IRL, have a big interest in any type of auto racing, love NFL and MLB, I read a lot, I love hot weather and hate cold weather, and I secretly aspire to be a storm chaser for a season....okay, maybe not so secretly.


I have a 14 y/o son who live, sleeps, and breathes golf. He spent around 14 hours a day at the golf course over summer break...he probably golfs about half of that time. The rest of the time he is being used and taken advantage of by the guys who actually work there. It's okay, though, he can't be a paid employee until he's 16, but for helping out - cleaning golf carts, retrieving range balls, & generally causing trouble with the guys who work there... - he gets free food, drinks, and gets to drive golf carts. For a 14 y/o, that's all you really need.


I'm in college...for the third time. The first time I didn't know what I wanted to do and enjoyed partying more than going to school. The second time I was being put through college by work, but then they ended the program I was in. This time I finally decided I was going to do this and I now have a year left of classes. I received my Associates of Arts in Business in 2009, and will complete my Bachelors of Science in Organizational Security & Management Program on July 4th, 2011. A BS in OSM is basically a business management and administration with a specialization in security and safety, protecting assets and employees, and handling disaster recovery. This program also has sections on Homeland Security, Physical Security, Marketing, and other business topics. Ultimately, it is a well-rounded degree for a leadership position in a business, retail, security, or hospitality setting or a security position in various industries.


I currently work for a self-publishing organization in nearby Bloomington, Indiana. I enjoy my job for the most part. My employer is fair, gives some pretty decent benefits beyond medical insurance, and the atmosphere is laid back - just the way I like it. I live in an economically dying area and would like nothing more than to sell my house and get the hell out of Dodge. If I did so, I would relocate my happy ass to any point south that has less winter weather, more summer weather, a good job, good affordable housing, and where my son can have access to a nice golf course or two. My ideal job would be Sports Writing, preferably NASCAR.Between growing up watching IRL, being a NASCAR addict for the past 20 years, and being a follower of MLB and NFL since I was a kid I have a fairly wide variety of sports knowledge and understanding. 
Welcome, and thanks for reading!